STOP-DWI Returning Warrior 10 & 5 Miler, Binghamton, NY

1112161604.jpg

It was a little chilly out this morning for this race at 36 degrees and a little windy but I felt like I was up to the shorter distance race. It has been a long season, I’ve lost count of all the event’s I’ve done this year. I think it’s somewhere around 28 or so including my early season swim meets. I was running the 5 Miler today and my goal time was 35 minutes, I thought I could handle a 7 minute pace. I got off to a good start and was right on pace at the 2 mile mark clock that had 13:47 on it as I passed. After about the 3 mile mark I seemed to get low on energy.

I’m well past my triathlon season fitness as my journey into junk food (mostly sugary soda) and the extra 10 lbs that I’ve put on must be catching up to me. It’s important for me to put on the weight during my off season because during triathlon season I lose a lot of weight and have in the past gotten too thin for my own liking.

I finished the race in 36:57, good enough for 12th place overall out of 145 and 3rd in my age group. I guess it was just one of those days when I didn’t have it! Oh, and I think I’m catching a cold, I’ve been sneezing and sniffling since I left the park.

Hmm, I checked my watch and it had me at a 6:59 pace and the race distance at 5.28 miles…my foot pod must be off. I’ll have to remove it when I’m running outside and let my GPS take over!

1112161106c.jpg

Leave a Reply

